Best Curried chickpeas recipe

On embarking on my quest to eliminate meat from my diet I’ve been searching for good recipes. I knew I would enjoy a good curried chick peas, but most of the recipes I found included coconut milk and some other strange ingredients that I just didn’t enjoy.

So I decided to develop my own that I could enjoy with my entire family and I’m going to share my recipe with you

Ingredients

2 cans of chickpeas drained and rinsed

3 cloves of garlic peeled and chopped

Two medium bell pepper diced into  1 inch chunks

2 plum tomatoes chopped into 1 inch chunks

I onion chopped 

1 1/2 table spoon curry powder 

1 table spoon olive oil

2 sprigs of thyme

1 1/2 table spoon  scotch bonnet hot sauce( found in ethnic isle of most supermarket)

Salt and pepper to taste
 

Directions

Heat olive in a medium pan 

Add onions and garlic and sautée until translucent and fragrant

Add thyme , tomatoes and bell peppers  and continue to sautée for 3 minutes

Add curry powder and sautée for additional 3 minutes 

Add chickpeas and stir 

Next immediately add 2 cups of water and stir

Ad salt , pepper  and scotch bonnet sauce bring to a slow boil while stirring intermittently

Reduce heat and simmer additional 25 minutes or until sauce thickens

Enjoy served over steamed white rice and my family prefer jasmine rice

If interested I will follow up with a recipe for the rice preparation.

Notes: usually I don’t put tomatoes in my curry as it tends to change the flavor

Scotch bonnet pepper or the sauce can be used interchangeably in this recipe and more or less can be added to your liking

One thought on “Best Curried chickpeas recipe”

Leave a Reply

